My Online and Offline Presence

To continue to get work I need to be able to market myself and make others believe that I am the right person for a job, This can be done in the traditional way such as showreels, networking and the likes (which I have been doing) and also through new and interesting ways such as viral marketing, QR codes and such. Below are samples of my business cards which aimed to mix the two together by allowing whoever was interested a quick way to access my content, at the moment these cards link to my about.me page which although useful does not look all that professional. In my next print off of cards I will link the QR code to my personal website which will be up and running at Shaunjacques.co.uk by then.

Business cards

http://www.about.me/shaunjacques

print screen of website that is available at wix.com but without domain privileges.

As well as this I need to build up a good list of contacts, I have a bunch through previous work and friends made through that and university, but to continue to build them I have started going to newtroking events such as call the shots and creative england.

Horrible photo of me at creative england in

Birmingham

That particular event wasn’t overly helpful as most of the people there seemed to be students rather than professionals, meaning that a lot of the professionals seemed to keep away from the ‘younger ones’ It may prove to be a challenge to stand out at events like this, especially considering my own strengths and weaknesses at networking (I’m not the greatest at starting up a conversation but seem to be ok once I get started.)

Updating my CV and showreel is a priority. To apply for decent jobs I will need to show off my skills and the challenges I can overcome. a list of companies to on the website would be helpful, below is a short design based on some of the companies I have worked with (and includes some from the provisional upcoming list) I realise I have missed out some organisations that may help me out in certain areas (such as Corby Radio)

I would like to avoid placing my CV for a few reasons but I will be sending it off to companies with cover letters for jobs. I will try to avoid the cliche of simply sending it everywhere and ‘hopeing’ for a response, instead I will focus my applications to those that I feel I can realistically do and also any that I already have a contact to help put in a ‘good word’. I am also building my profile up on LinkedIn. I will not post a link to that page at this stage as it is still work in progress, but I can see the benefits of the site. In simple terms it’s essentially facebook but for work oppurtunities. (facebook itself has proven useful in getting work experience by itself)

I have also signed up to a site to monitor my google activities for my name. In this day and age reputation is EVERYTHING and nowhere is your reputation more at risk than online. It’s important that anyone searchin up infomation about me sees the good and not the bad (not personally here i’m thinking more about bad work i’ve made in the past for example) at the moment most of the top results on google link back to me personally (vimeo, youtube pages etc..) I can thank my parents for giving me a fairly uncommon name for that really. but this site will allow me to put emphasis on certain results appearing on google and others being pushed to the background.

some links do go to ‘shaun jacques’ an aspiring comedian

Note that a lot of the photos on google image lead to work of mine or indeed are photos of me. fortunatenly there is nothing ‘bad’ here but it’s important to make sure it stays that way. No one will hire me if the top image for shaun jacques is me downing a bottle of cider for example.

Leave a Reply

