TRAILER AND CREATION

The above is my 30 teaser for ‘Grandiose’ I decided to make this trailer to promote the film and give a potential audience a rough idea of what my film would be about but without giving too much away. I had seen plenty of trailers in the past, particulary from Hollywood where the whole story is ruined in a 1 minute trailer, I was highly against doing that but at the same time I needed to give the audience something to work with. For an example of what I am talking about I present the example of Adam Sandler comedy ‘Funny People’

The trailer above pretty much tells you everything you need to know about the film, to the point where I felt that I didn’t need to see it, This is something I have criticised in the past especially in comedies where all of the best ‘moments’ are put into the trailer leaving the film itself to seem rather lacklustre. I aimed to give just a little bit of a section about the ‘world’ of ‘grandiose’ I experimented by putting in certian phrases that would tell the audience the basic story ‘Example Nathan saying “We’re gonna record an album”  but I decided against this as it just didn’t suit and it felt really out of place. The idea of the trailer I ended up with as stated earlier was to introduce the world and a ‘little’ bit about the characters, as inspiration for this I rembered the current series of teasers for Promethius and also the orginal run of trailers for Inception.

Once I finished the trailer though it reminded me of something, I couldn’t put my finger on it for a while but I had a strange sense of deja vu. What I had managed to do (in my opinion) was create an intro similar to some TV series, particully  some made in the mid nineties such as Joss Whedon’s Buffy The Vampire Slayer.

I found it quite interesting that I had come to this conclusion as it must have been subconsciously playing in my head during the thought process of creating this trailer. If given more time I may have created an alternative teaser, trying out some more lines to make the trailer make some more sense but at the same time sticking to my ‘less is more’ approach, but I feel this teaser does the job nicely and has received positive feedback so far.

Leave a Reply

